Anchored in Hope

As I sit on my balcony this beautiful Easter afternoon, I cannot help but reflect on the hope that I have in Christ.  This morning at church, rather than preach the Easter story of Christ’s resurrection, our pastor discussed the hope we are offered in Christ.  It is hope that is not seen, but it is sure, steadfast, and promised to all who accept Jesus as their Savior.

Now, I know what some of you may be thinking: how cliche is it that my name is Hope, I go to Hope College, and I’m blogging about hope?  I get it.  It’s funny, and there are endless puns to be made.  But that isn’t my point here.

I’ve learned a lot about hope this semester.  I’m continuously being reminded to live into the hope that Jesus gives.  And I’m continuously being reminded that I will fail time and time again to do so.  I’m human, fallen, and sinful.  The good news is that no matter how often I fall short, God is waiting to take my hand and pick me up again.  God sent His only Son to this earth to die on the cross as a sacrifice for my sins and the sins of all who accept Him.  That is where I find hope.  Hope that is not of this world.  Hope that has power because Christ is RISEN.  He is risen indeed.

“For in this hope we were saved.  Now hope that is seen is not hope.  For who hopes for what he sees?  But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.” ~Romans 8:24-25

Leave a Reply

