Fall Preview

It’s hard to believe that I’m actually halfway there.  And in the words of Bon Jovi, I am definitely living on a prayer.  I am five weeks into my junior year, and time is flying by.  My first exams are right around the corner, I turned in my research proposal, and I’m up to my nose in reading.

And I love all of it.  I really do. I enjoy being challenged and involved.  So far everything has worked out better than I ever expected it to, and I’m so thankful for that.

If you read this blog regularly, you know that its main function is to promote the research projects I’ve been working on and invite you to engage with me in those. Although I do enjoy adding personal anecdotes and hope that those give you a sense of me as a person as well as a researcher.  It’s been a while since I have been super active with posting, so I wanted to take some time to give you a brief preview of what this semester has to offer in the world of Hope at Hope!

For the Mellon Scholars program I am working on a cultural history project about comics and cartoons from the Centennial Exhibition.  I am so excited to really dive into this and don’t want to give away too much detail, but there will be an interactive digital portion of the project that I hope you will enjoy.

I’m also traveling to Philadelphia for about four days in November!  PHILADELPHIA! I’ve been working on this project about the Centennial Exhibition for a year now and am beyond grateful to the Mellon Scholars program for providing the opportunity to visit.   I will be attending some discussions at the Philadelphia Center, researching in the archives, and will actually get to see Fairmount Park.

Beyond the Mellon Program I’ve expanded my interests a bit.  I officially declared a communication minor this semester meaning I will graduate as an English major with a music and communication double minor. I think that the combination of English and communication is wonderful and have found so many different ways of approaching writing through this.

I also started working as a copy editor this semester for Hope College’s student newspaper The Anchor, and I’m taking a journalism class.  Both of these have been a healthy challenge.  I’m learning AP style and how to be more concise in my writing.  There is no room for elaborate sentences full of every form of punctuation imaginable in journalism.  I’m learning to be okay with that.

Finally, and something I am looking forward to very much, I will be writing a post for the Massachusetts Historical Society’s blog The Beehive sometime this fall.  The post will talk about my experience working there this summer on Voices of the Exhibition.

With that, I encourage you to listen to the podcasts linked above, if you haven’t already done so!

I think that is all for now!  Thanks for reading, and let me know what you think! You can find me on Twitter @HopeHancock94.

Blessings.

 

One thought on “Fall Preview

Leave a Reply

